Oh Susanna - Namedropper Vinyl


"Over the course of five previous albums, Oh Susanna (Suzie Ungerleider) has earned a reputation as an imaginative creator of compelling characters and narratives. On Namedropper, she changes the plot dramatically, as she and producer/co-conspirator Jim Bryson approached her singer/songwriter friends to each come up with a new song for her. They're impressive names she gets to drop, too; the all-Canadian list includes Jim Cuddy, Royal Wood, Joel Plaskett, Luke Doucet, Melissa McClelland, Amelia Curran and Ron Sexsmith.… The quality level of the generous 14-song collection is astonishingly high, and don't be surprised if some of the writers come up with their own versions later. The subtle strengths of the material are revealed over repeat playings, while Bryson's production work is tasteful. Some of the writers contribute backing vocals on their songs (Kathleen Edwards also guests), but the focus is rightly kept on Ungerleider's voice. It's a lovely collaborative effort all round and a worthy addition to a somewhat undervalued but stellar discography." – Exclaim!


  1. Oregon
  2. Into My Arms
  3. Goodnight
  4. Cottonseed
  5. Wait Until the Sun Comes Up
  6. Mozart for the Cat
  7. Provincial Parks
  8. Letterbomb
  9. Loved You More
  10. 1955
  11. Savings & Loan
  12. This Guy
  13. Dying Light
  14. I Love the Way She Dresses