Nein, The - The Nein EP


Durham, NC's art-punk project the Nein formed after the breakup of White Octave, which also featured former Cursive member Stephen Pederson. Vocalist/guitarist/programmer Finn Cohen and drummer/keyboardist Robert Biggers teamed up with bassist/graphic designer Casey Burns and expanded the angular post-post-punk of their previous band with more electronic and melodic elements. One of the first American bands on Sonic Unyon, the trio recorded its self-titled debut EP in spring 2003, releasing it in October 2004, and eliciting praise from both sides of the border.


  1. Five Extinctions
  2. Handout
  3. War Is On the Stereo
  4. House Atreides
  5. Giorgio
  6. Clearwater